Big name for a not-so-little girl: Pigs – Part I

It took me one day to realise I wanted to write a blog and 2 weeks to wrestle down a name. When they started sounding like rejected 90s sitcoms, I dropped the whole blog idea. But when Pigs, Figs and Higgs did finally come to me, I kept them all.

Pigs are painfully cute and supposedly very intelligent, but that’s not the reason they’re the first at my party. Nor is it that nothing gets me out of bed faster on a Sunday morning than the aroma of crispy bacon wafting through the house. I wrote three lines extolling the virtues of pork, but deleted it before this became a food post.

Crackling. Belly. Loin. Sorry, I had to get that out of my system.

Aaaanyway! Back in high school, I used to doodle comic characters during class and the one time I got into trouble for it, I was in the middle of discovering the Piggie Sty. Sixteen years after I first doodled them in geography class, I’m proud to introduce you to the Piggies.

MARLA PIGGIE Very vintage, very complicated. Funny to a fault - her own fault most of the time.

MARLA PIGGIE
Very vintage, very complicated. Funny to a fault – her own fault most of the time.

JACKSON PIGGIE Little shit.

JACKSON PIGGIE
Little shit.

JAMES 'THE GIRL' PIGGIE Vegan, music-festival-hopping spectacle-less hipster. Never gets her eye makeup to match.

JAMES ‘THE GIRL’ PIGGIE
Vegan, music-festival-hopping spectacle-less hipster. Never gets her eye makeup to match.

JAMES 'THE GUY' PIGGIE Tattooed, taxed and thinks he's the funniest. Wears to beard ironically.

JAMES ‘THE GUY’ PIGGIE
Tattooed, taxed and thinks he’s the funniest. Wears a beard ironically.

LaLUNA PIGGIE Zero facebook friends; 78 real-life friends. Bookworm and reluctantly beautiful.

LaLUNA PIGGIE
Zero facebook friends; 78 real-life friends. Bookworm and reluctantly beautiful.

MILES 'SMILES' PIGGIE Super pleasant, go-to guy. Irrational fear of light bulbs.

MILES ‘SMILES’ PIGGIE
Super pleasant, go-to guy. Irrational fear of light bulbs.

NOVEMBER PIGGIE Formerly known as 'Dark November', ex-ish-goth grandmother to 6 unnecessarily chirpy girls.

NOVEMBER PIGGIE
Formerly known as ‘Dark November’, ex-ish-goth grandmother to 6 unnecessarily chirpy girls.

Pigs made it into the name because it reminds me that Geography classes were the worst, that I used to love to sketch, that I had big dreams for the Piggies and for myself – and that while Geography sucks, there’s still hope for the Piggies and me.

Leave a Reply

